Demystifying the ACCA Qualification: Structure, Levels, and Duration

acca course in ahmedabad

In the ever-evolving world of finance and accounting, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) qualification stands as a beacon of excellence. With its global recognition, this prestigious certification opens doors to a wide range of career opportunities in the finance and accounting sectors. Whether you’re in Ahmedabad or anywhere else in the world, understanding the structure of the ACCA qualification is crucial to charting your path toward becoming a chartered accountant. In this article, we will delve into the ACCA course, including its structure, the number of exams, different levels, and the typical duration to complete the entire course.

ACCA Course in Ahmedabad

Before we dive into the specifics of the ACCA qualification, it’s worth noting that the ACCA course is available in Ahmedabad, just as it is in many other cities across the globe. Ahmedabad, with its burgeoning business landscape and thriving financial sector, offers a conducive environment for aspiring accountants and finance professionals to pursue the ACCA qualification.

Structure of the ACCA Qualification

The ACCA qualification is structured to provide a comprehensive understanding of accounting and finance principles, ensuring that individuals are well-equipped to meet the demands of the industry. It consists of three main components: the Fundamental Level, the Skills Level, and the Professional Level.

Fundamental Level: The Fundamental Level is the starting point of the ACCA qualification. It comprises two modules: Knowledge and Skills. Each module is further divided into three papers, making a total of six papers.

  1. Knowledge Module:
    • Accountant in Business (FAB)
    • Management Accounting (FMA)
    • Financial Accounting (FFA)
  2. Skills Module:
    • Corporate and Business Law (LW)
    • Performance Management (PM)
    • Taxation (TX)
    • Financial Reporting (FR)
    • Audit and Assurance (AA)
    • Financial Management (FM)

To move on to the Skills Level, candidates must complete all papers within the Knowledge Module.

Skills Level: The Skills Level builds upon the foundation established in the Fundamental Level. It consists of six papers and is designed to develop more advanced skills and knowledge in accounting and finance.

  1. Essentials Module:
    • Strategic Business Leader (SBL)
    • Strategic Business Reporting (SBR)
  2. Options Module (Choose two out of four):
    • Advanced Financial Management (AFM)
    • Advanced Performance Management (APM)
    • Advanced Taxation (ATX)
    • Advanced Audit and Assurance (AAA)

Successful completion of all papers in the Skills Level leads to eligibility for the Professional Level.

Professional Level: The Professional Level is the pinnacle of the ACCA qualification. It consists of two modules: Essentials and Options, just like the Skills Level.

  1. Essentials Module:
    • Strategic Professional (Essentials)
      • Strategic Business Leader (SBL)
      • Strategic Business Reporting (SBR)
  2. Options Module (Choose two out of four):
    • Advanced Financial Management (AFM)
    • Advanced Performance Management (APM)
    • Advanced Taxation (ATX)
    • Advanced Audit and Assurance (AAA)

Upon completing the Professional Level, candidates are required to complete the ACCA Ethics and Professional Skills module, which is mandatory for becoming an ACCA member.

Number of Exams in the ACCA Qualification

In total, the ACCA qualification comprises 13 exams. These exams are distributed across the Knowledge, Skills, and Professional levels, as outlined above. The number of exams in each module varies, with the Knowledge and Skills levels containing a total of six and six papers, respectively, and the Professional Level containing four papers. Additionally, the Ethics and Professional Skills module is a non-exam assessment that candidates must complete to become ACCA members.

ACCA Course in Ahmedabad: A Growing Opportunity

Ahmedabad, a thriving metropolis in Gujarat, India, has witnessed rapid economic growth in recent years. Its burgeoning financial sector, along with the presence of numerous multinational corporations and businesses, has created a robust demand for finance professionals. The ACCA course in Ahmedabad presents an exceptional opportunity for aspiring accountants and financial experts to tap into this dynamic market.

Why Choose the ACCA Course in Ahmedabad?

  1. Global Recognition: The ACCA qualification is globally recognized and respected. By pursuing this course in Ahmedabad, candidates gain a credential that is valued not only in India but also in international markets, opening doors to a vast array of career prospects worldwide.
  2. Diverse Industry Landscape: Ahmedabad boasts a diverse industry landscape, encompassing sectors such as manufacturing, textiles, information technology, and finance. This diversity provides ACCA graduates with the flexibility to explore various career options and industries within the city.
  3. Corporate Opportunities: Many multinational companies and financial institutions have established their presence in Ahmedabad. These organizations actively seek ACCA professionals due to their holistic understanding of finance and accounting principles.
  4. Professional Development: The ACCA course equips candidates with a comprehensive skill set, including financial management, taxation, audit, and business strategy. This diverse skill set positions graduates to take on leadership roles and contribute effectively to their organizations.
  5. Networking Opportunities: Ahmedabad hosts numerous industry events, seminars, and conferences, providing ACCA students and professionals with ample opportunities to network with experts and stay updated on industry trends.

Typical Duration to Complete the Entire ACCA Course

The duration to complete the entire ACCA course can vary depending on individual circumstances, such as prior education, work commitments, and study pace. On average, most candidates take around three to four years to complete all the required exams and modules.

Here’s a breakdown of the typical duration for each level:

  1. Fundamental Level: Candidates typically take 9-12 months to complete this level, covering the six papers in the Knowledge and Skills modules.
  2. Skills Level: The Skills Level usually takes another 9-12 months to complete, with candidates progressing through the six papers in this module.
  3. Professional Level: Completing the Professional Level typically takes 12-18 months, as it involves four advanced papers.
  4. Ethics and Professional Skills Module: Candidates are required to complete this module, which usually takes a few months, before becoming ACCA members.

It’s important to note that many factors can influence the duration of your ACCA journey, including your study schedule, work commitments, and personal circumstances. Some candidates may opt for accelerated study plans, while others may choose a more extended timeline to balance work and study effectively.


The ACCA course in Ahmedabad, as well as in other cities worldwide, offers a structured path for individuals seeking to excel in the fields of accounting and finance. With a comprehensive curriculum divided into the Fundamental, Skills, and Professional Levels, candidates can gradually build their knowledge and skills, preparing them for the challenges of the finance and accounting industry. While the typical duration to complete the entire ACCA course ranges from three to four years, the flexibility of the program allows candidates to tailor their studies to their individual needs and circumstances. Whether you’re in Ahmedabad or any other location, the ACCA qualification can open doors to rewarding career opportunities in the world of finance and accounting.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *